Skip to content

Introducing Lesley

by on September 26, 2011

Hello, I’m Lesley and I am the bemused half of Awesome & Bemused.

I’ve been blogging for the past 3 years and so far so good! I started blogging because I reached a point where I got tired of asking myself if this was all there was to life. I decided to begin a journey to discover who I am and really figure out what I want to get out of life.

I’m 24 years old and I live in British Columbia, Canada. I’m American by birth and my background is Chinese Jamaican. Yes, I know it’s an odd mix. I was a very shy and timid child growing up and found my escape through reading and later on, writing. My mom taught me how to read at an early age and ever since I have had a love of reading and books. At one point, I owned a collection of over 1,200 books! But then I discovered minimalism.

I am by no means a minimalist but it is the one thing that sort of propelled me into trying to change my life for the better. Growing up in a family where stuff was often valued over people and the more important things in life that can’t be measured in dollars, it was a real surprise to learn that owning things doesn’t actually make a person happy.  I then proceeded to ask myself if stuff doesn’t make me happy, then what does? Good question. But, don’t worry, I’m working on finding out the answer. I’m getting the feeling, though, that it has to do with life experiences and meaningful relationships.

Yes, I’m totally and completely bemused by life and all of its ups and downs but as I continue to explore and experience more of what life has to offer – such as starting this blog project with my awesome blogging partner —  I’m learning that maybe finding the answers to the myriad of questions life throws at us isn’t as important as the trip we take to get there. I’m excited about what’s to come for this blog and can’t wait to be a part of it as it unfolds!

From → Personal

One Comment
  1. Oliver permalink

    So if you’re bemused, I must be awesome! That makes sense 😉

    Look forward to starting this project for real, and reading your reviews.

Leave a Reply

