Skip to content

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

by on February 21, 2012

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs is a young adult book built up around a series of real vintage photographs of creepy children. Touted by John Green on the back cover, I expected more than what I got. I expected it to be a creepy horror story about creepy children. Very uncharacteristic of me, but I wanted to be a little bit freaked out by this book. Maybe I didn’t realize that until after the story was over but part of the disappointment in the end was that it was just a book about a young, privileged boy named Jacob who grew up listening to his grandfather tell crazy, unbelievable and fantastical stories about the kids he grew up with. He then travels to Wales to find these peculiar people who have special abilities such as super strength, levitation, and invisibility.

I can’t say much about the actual story without giving away the whole premise of the book but I really was disappointed overall. The most interesting part of the story were the pictures that were real and taken by other people inserted in the book by the author that took up about 50 pages. But even the pictures detracted from the story as Ransom Riggs never quite proves himself as a writer to me as he seems to be writing a story to go along with some pictures rather than having the pictures go along with his story.

The ending of the book left it wide open for a sequel, but I for one have no interest in continuing this little journey. It’s a fantasy book and nothing is cooler than people who can do cool things that I can’t do but it didn’t excite or keep me enthralled at all. Actually, the beginning of the book wasn’t so bad. It was when they arrived in Wales and things started happening and the story started progressing that everything went downhill. I thought the action scenes in the end were particularly unimpressive. No matter what type of book I’m reading, I want to be affected by it and unfortunately this book just didn’t do it for me at all and I would not recommend it to anyone.

From → Books

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

